104 Books in a Year

It seemed like January disappeared really quickly. I had intended to write this blog post in the first week of the year but alas the month sped past. I like to set challenges for the year, and this time I decided it would be book related. With more commuting time this year I have set the challenge to read at least 104 books in the year – so on average around two a week. I’ll post the titles here, sometimes with a short review if I think it might be useful/interesting. I’ll update the post as I read more as a way to track my progress.

The books I have read this year so far:

  1. The Second Angel – Philip Kerr
  2. The BRIC road to Growth – Jim O’ Neill – a good brief overview of the progress of the BRIC countries (Brazil, Russia, India and China) and an even briefer introduction to the new rising economies, the MINTs (Mexico, Indonesia, Nigeria and Turkey). You can also hear about the MINTs on a series of BBC documentary podcasts where the author talks in more depth about why these countries have the potential to be much more important in the global economy in the years to come.
  3. Hitler’s Peace – Phillip Kerr
  4. The Ghosts of Berlin – Brian Ladd
  5. Esau – Philip Kerr
  6. The One from the Other – Philip Kerr

You may notice at this point there are quite a few Philip Kerr books. A few years ago I discovered one his books while at an airport on the way to Berlin, If the Dead Rise Not, a detective novel set in Berlin in the 1930s. After this book I was hooked on his writing have since gone to read many of his books, with a particular highlight being the Berlin Noir trilogy.

So, at this stage in the year I am a little behind schedule but I currently have several books that are partly read, and will hopefully get back on track soon.

Update –  12/03/13: I currently have an absurd number of books currently being read. I am making an effort to finish some of them off. Recently finished titles include:

7. A Man Without a Breath – Phillip Kerr. Another Bernie Gunther novel this time focused around events in Katyn Forest.

8. The Prince of Mist – Carlos Ruiz Zafon. I got knocked over by a cyclist in London and so my husband buy’s me a book to make the day seem a bit better! I devoured this in a couple of hours of commuting. A book aimed at the teenage market, but I found it gripping, even if it was slightly scary in parts.

9. From Recipients to Donors: Emerging Powers and the Changing Development Landscape – Emma Mawdsley. This book I had to read for work, a fascinating topic. I have taught in the past about the increasing activity of China in Africa, but this book provided a whole new perspective on the way countries position themselves in the world through aid and development co-operation.

This entry was posted in Book Review, Just interesting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

